After watching a live performance today in class of the play Waiting For Godot  I can definitely say it went against my expectations. While I was reading the book, I imagined a setting where Estragon and Vladamir were just casually standing my a tree waiting for Godot and making conversation. To me it seemed like a very normal day, nothing really out of the ordinary of the two people besides them having a poor memory and repeating things a lot. However, in the live performance I was officially creeped out. The setting looked very depressing and gloomy. The background was basically very foggy and gray and of course there stood the tree. I didn’t expect the tree to look so dead and gloomy. I pictured the tree to be like an oak tree or something with leaves in the middle of a grassy field. However, the tree in the play was pale, skinny, and it looked dead which weirded me out even more. And then Vladamir and Estragon spoke to each other strangely… they would go off topic of what the other was saying, or they wouldn’t answer each other’s questions directly. They also interacted with one another like they dependent on each other. Estragon would not walk unless Vladamir walked or vice versa. Very strange, Very strange. I guess this added to the theme of the play, that in life people generally don’t really know what they’re purpose is and are constantly trying to define it. But by trying to find it, they sometimes just go in circles and ultimately never really achieve anything.